So I started a ball rolling yesterday, but there’s little question from my end that the inertia is still on the ‘object at rest…’ end of the spectrum. In the interest of building some momentum, allow me to post an update.

I’ve had the good fortune to be able to climb a few mountains in my time. This could be taken metaphorically I suppose, but I’m being literal here. Because it’s not something I do regularly, and because I’m not particularly diligent about exercise, there’s always this point as I near the summit… a point at which I’m starting to get a glimpse of what lies beyond, and at which I’m starting to get emotionally excited. It’s just about at this point, however, that my body is giving out. I’m so excited about the potential that is just out of my reach, and at the same time, so tired that I’m actually considering giving up. The only thing keeping me moving when I get here is sheer willpower… the desire to see that vista, and to experience the reward of going back down again in the knowledge that I did what I set out to do. It sounds super inspiring to say it this way, but the reality of the situation is that until I actually reach that summit, it sucks. It sucks hard.

That’s a pretty apt description of how I feel about dietary stuff at the moment. I’m excited to see my clothes fit again, I’m excited to have consistent poop again, I’m excited to wake up alert and ready to start the day again. But someone just heated up some mac-and-cheese in the office microwave and all I can think about right now is how much that ooey-gooey goodness would thrill me, how much I want to eat ALL THE CARBS!!!!!

I ate well yesterday, and I feel it today… I’m a little clearer, a little more alert. And that’s encouraging. But the degree to which I want to eat things that are bad for me? That sucks. It sucks hard.

For breakfast this morning, I had a bowl of yogurt with some raspberries and sliced banana. I don’t mean to brag, but the yogurt that Diana and I make is… AMAZING! Having said that, it’s quite thick and heavy, and sometimes it’s a bit much. So I’ve been pleased lately to discover that there are an increasing number of dairy kefirs available on the market that appear to be legal. I like to use half yogurt and half kefir… it provides a pleasant viscosity, and a good, complex flavor. Right now, I’ve got this one at home. 20140909_080159It’s available at Whole Foods. Why do I think it’s legal? Here are the ingredients: 20140909_080318Yes, I know Bifidus is generally considered a no-no, but it’s the last item on the list, and I take TONS of probiotic supplements, so I’m not too worried about it.

Lunch today will be some broth with bits of shredded chicken in it, and a pickle. I have some concerns over what’s going to happen at around 3PM, and how loudly my stomach is going to be growling, but I’m fortunate that my company keeps fresh organic produce in the kitchen, so perhaps a piece of fruit will be sufficient. If not, it could be an uncomfortable (and loud!) afternoon.

 

