Court orders university to defend rejection of applicant with Crohn’s disease | Inside Higher Ed

So here’s an interesting take on the Crohn’s experience. And it raises some interesting questions, in particular…

Do you consider your Crohn’s/UC/IBD/Whatever to be a disability?

I find myself thinking about the word ‘disability’ and what it *really* means. At it’s core, it’s the opposite of ‘ability’. I could easily argue that my Crohn’s is a disability, largely because it interferes with my ability to eat whatever I want (and poop however I want!). But eating is largely an issue of my treatment, not my condition…. does that mean that my diet is a disability? This is, ironically, interesting food for thought.

Let me also be clear here… I know that for many, many people out there, Crohn’s is, without a doubt, a debilitating condition, one whose status as a disability cannot be questioned. If that’s you, you have my deepest sympathies. It is not my intention to imply that your experience is not what it is. My own experience of Crohn’s is more subtle and insidious, and 99% of the time, more of an inconvenience. In sharing my thoughts here, it’s not my intention either to question whether or not the student in the article experience Crohn’s as a disability. I posted it here because it’s the first time I’ve paused to really think about linking Crohn’s with the concept of disability… I’ve called it a lot of things, but I’d never considered it within the context of disability. That is all.

