Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

chemical structure of maltodextrin

chemical structure of maltodextrin (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

First, a side note. One of the challenges of being a blogger is that, unless you’re in the top 2 or 3% of the blogging population (and suffice it to say that I am not!), one still needs a day job. I’m fortunate, in these uncertain times, to have a job for which I am well-compensated, and in which I have a fair amount of security. I know that others are not so lucky, so I am grateful. The downside, however, is that when things get particularly busy at work, blogging tends to be one of the first things to fall off my priority list. I won’t apologize for that, but I do want you to know that it bothers me when I go too long without writing here. Many of you have come here and offered me positive words of encouragement and helpful feedback, and many more just come to read. I’m grateful to each of you, and I hope that you can understand why sometimes I might seem to disappear for periods of time.

Having gotten that out of the way….

I stumbled across an interesting article the other day. The findings outlined in it will be of little surprise to those of us who have read Breaking The Vicious Cycle, and understand the ‘whithertos and whyfores’ of SCD, but it does bring home many of the principles behind it all.

http://health.usnews.com/health-news/news/articles/2012/05/21/could-compound-in-artificial-sweeteners-worsen-crohns-disease

The article outlines an experiment conducted using 3 sweeteners: Splenda, Equal, and Stevia. The first two contain maltodextrin, which, being a corn derivative, is NOT SCD-legal. Stevia does not.  Each sweetener was placed in a Petri dish along with some E. coli bacteria. Consistent with what us SCD-ers know about bacteria and grain, the bacteria growing in the maltodextrin-based sweeteners became, quite literally, sticky. It’s been a while since I read BTVC, but IIRC, one of the major factors in the development and furtherance of Crohn’s-related gut injury relates to the walls of the gut becoming plastered with mucus and ‘goo’. Well, if this experiment proves nothing else, if proves that E. coli + maltodextrin = GOO!

This also raises another interesting question: If stevia does not create goo out of E. coli, is it safe for SCD-ers to eat? The BTVC KB is pretty clear: No. http://www.breakingtheviciouscycle.info/knowledge_base/kb/stevia.htm But it’s interesting to note that Elaine’s primary reason for deeming it illegal is that she didn’t know much about it.

I do so appreciate Elaine’s huge contribution to the world, but it’s a shame that she left no successor to the throne. It seems as though, even as food science develops, SCD will be frozen in time until someone with the wisdom, insight, knowledge, and interest comes along to pick up her dropped mantle.

In the meantime, I may be doing some research into stevia on my own. If I do, and if I find something worth reporting, I’ll be sure to post something here about it.

Thanks again for reading. I really do appreciate your comments, questions, or even just your number showing up on my stats page.

