Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I had an epiphany recently, and it’s time I shouted it from the rooftops.

If you’ve followed this blog or know me at all, then you know that I experienced a life-altering health crisis last year (if you don’t know about this, then you might want to read my About page!). My experience of this crisis was pretty abrupt and sudden…. One day I was investigating why I’d always had a cranky gut, and the next I was being prepped for emergency surgery. Since then, I’ve relied a lot on  the clause, “When I got sick last year…”, or similar variations on that theme.

I would like to officially renounce this.

I didn’t get sick last July. I’d BEEN getting sick for a long time before that. Most of my life, actually. But what happened last Summer was not me getting sick. It was me having the sickness removed, and being given tabula rasa on which to build a whole new life of healing, health, and good food. I didn’t get sick…. I got well! Was I cured of Crohn’s? No, of course not. There is no cure. BUT! I am free of active disease and sickness.

I believe in a powerful connection between mind and body, that the ways we think have a huge impact on the ways we feel. Additionally, the ways we use language have a huge impact on how we think. So I’m taking a moment to declare, with absolute conviction, that July 19, 2011 will always be known as the day I stopped being sick, and I got well. I have such gratitude for the Specific Carbohydrate Diet, Low Dose Naltrexone, and most importantly, the undying love and support of my friends and family for helping me stay that way.

What are some of the ways that you use language or positivity to influence the management of your chronic condition? Leave me a comment and let’s talk about it!

