Tags

, , , , ,

I met with my ND yesterday.  It was a follow-up from my visit a couple of weeks ago, mostly to check in and see if the pancreatic enzymes he’d prescribed for me were helping (they are!).  While he was very pleased with the results, he became concerned when I brought up a couple other things that have been going on.  Specifically, a) I’ve been feeling a bit arthritic lately, with painful joints in my fingers and hips, and b) I’m exhibiting onycholysis, or separation of my fingernails from the nail bed.  It’s not painful, but it’s unsightly and it’s a good indicator that my psoriasis is considering a major flare.

So… while my gut health seems to be pretty good right now, overall my autoimmune issues seem to be more active than I’d like them to be.  After talking about it yesterday, we agreed that I should start Low Dose Naltrexone.  I’ve done enough research on my own to know that the side effects are pretty minimal and that there’s very little risk associated with it.  Even so, it’s a little nerve-racking to consider starting a drug therapy that could very well last for the rest of my life.

I’d love to hear from other folks using LDN therapy.  Have you found it effective in managing your autoimmune issues?  What dosage are you taking?  Have you had troubles sleeping at night?  How much does it cost?  Do you have difficulty finding a compounding pharmacy to fill the prescription?  What base have you had the best luck with (probiotic? cellulose? other?), and is it SCD-Legal?  Anything else I should know?

