People are often flabbergasted when I start to outline the things I can’t eat.  Part of this is simply due to people not thinking about food the way that I do now.  For example, when I say, “No grains or starches.”.  I instantly get the same list of questions:

  • What about rice?
  • What about quinoa?
  • What about potatoes… they’re gluten free!

And on it goes as their eyes get wider and wider with each question.  Inevitably, the answer is always “No, that’s a grain.” or “No, that has starch”.  It forces people to really think about what food is.

Another inevitability is that I get asked about soy.  After all, soy is good for you… everybody says so!  It’s a miracle food, right?  Wrong.  There are a number of reasons soy is disallowed on SCD.  There are the same number of reasons that you should STRONGLY consider whether or not soy is something you want to be eating.  Here are a couple of links that discuss why:

http://www.breakingtheviciouscycle.info/knowledge_base/kb/soy.htm
http://www.foodrenegade.com/dangers-of-soy/

Soy is bad, mmkay people?  The more I learn about it, the more inclined I am to think that even if I were NOT following the SCD, I’d still take it out of my diet.

