So my wife and I are starting to explore ways to maintain our food snobbery while also maintaining SCD legality.

One of the things that we were both bummed about is that every deli meat at our local New Seasons Market had *something* about it that wasn’t legal.  Ok.  Time to set out on our own, apparently.  We decided to make some roast beef, and some corned beef.

The roast beef was pretty easy.  Take a hunk of beef of your choice.  Shoot for something around 2-2.5 lbs.  We used a chuck roast, which is relatively inexpensive but doesn’t slice so tidily.  Tenderloin will give you the prettiest slices, but will set you back a bit more at the cash register.  Rub said hunk with a paste of pureed garlic, salt, pepper and some herbs that you like.  We used thyme and herbs d’Provence.  Wrap tightly in plastic and let rest in the fridge for a day or so.  Preheat the oven to 400°.  Brush a heavy roasting pan generously with olive oil.  Heat another tablespoon or so of olive oil in a heavy skillet.  Over medium high heat, brown the beef on every side.  It shouldn’t take more than a couple minutes per side.  Transfer the meat to the roasting pan and toss it in the oven.  Let roast until it’s to your liking.  Ours was in the oven for about 35 minutes and a thermometer read about 130° when stuck in the middle.  After it’s done roasting, allow to rest for 10 minutes or so on a cutting board.

A beautiful hunk of roast beef

Although we’d intended this to use as a deli-style meat, it looked and smelled so good, we had to have some for dinner.  We didn’t really feel like cooking anything else, and we had an avocado that needed to be eaten, so we solved 2 problems by making a guacamole-style topping to put over the meat.  It.  Was.  AMAZING!

Meanwhile, our corned beef is brining.  It needs to soak in the brine for 10 days before cooking.  I’ll post the brine recipe we came up with tomorrow, but that sure was a beautiful brisket we put in there, so I hope it works out!!

Something that’s really struck me about adopting the SCD is how glad I am that I’m not a vegetarian.  It would be tough to make it without meat.

Something else I’m noticing is how hungry I am ALL THE TIME!!!  Not sure what that’s about, but I’m hoping that as things stabilize and I get used to the diet that my appetite will adjust.

